#BlogTour | #BookReview: Ice Lake by John A. Lenahan (@johnlenahan) @KillerReads

ice lake.jpg“…WHERE EVERYBODY LIES. AND SOME PEOPLE KILL…

An electrifying debut crime novel and the first in a new series featuring psychologist Harry Cull. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Peter May.

AN ABANDONED BODY
Deep in the woods of Northeastern Pennsylvania, the body of a man is found – shot three times, dumped under the trees where the local kids will find him.

A HAUNTED PSYCHOLOGIST
Psychologist Harry Cull, tormented by his past, arrives in the picturesque town of Ice Lake to help with the murder investigation. There he unravels a web of lies and deceit that leads to the dark heart of a community torn apart by fracking, drugs and murder.

A DESPERATE KILLER
It’s not long before the second corpse turns up, this time a lawyer left for dead in the forest, and Harry finds himself on the trail of a twisted killer – who will do anything to keep the town’s darkest secrets buried.”

I am delighted to welcome you to damppebbles today as it’s my turn to host the Ice Lake blog tour.  Alongside me are two fabulous bloggers, Helen at Life of a Nerdish Mum and Alison at Ali the Dragon Slayer.  Both blogs are brilliant so please make sure you pop over and say hello!  Ice Lake is author, John A Lenahan’s debut crime thriller and was published by Killer Reads on 7th July.

And what a cracking crime debut! I really liked Lenahan’s lead protagonist, ex-cop turned psychologist, Harry Cull.  I’ve always been interested in the study of body language and what your subconscious is revealing about you, the secrets it discloses. Those little ‘tells’ that indicate to a professional that you’re lying.  And that’s exactly what Harry does. Having experienced Harry’s ‘powers’ at a conference, he is drafted in by Trooper Ed Cirba to assist in a murder investigation which has rocked the picturesque town of Ice Lake.  Harry and Trooper Cirba are at a loss.  Then another body is discovered, this time a lawyer left for dead in his car.  Will Trooper Cirba and Harry be able to discover who is lying and who the murderer is before a third victim is found…?

There is a lovely level of humour in this book and the banter between Cirba and Cull really adds to the story.  As regular readers of the blog will know, I’m one for the characters in a story and Ice Lake is chock full of some really interesting people.  I particularly liked Todd, the miserable local gossip who also happens to own the local shop.  Todd to his face, Toad behind his back!  And then there’s MK, the love interest.  I don’t tend to enjoy reading about budding relationships in my crime novels but I warmed to MK so much that their smoochy moments didn’t really bother me.  I appreciated that the author stopped narrating the action as soon as it became a bit frisky too.

Would I recommend this book?  I would and I can’t wait to read the next in the Harry Cull series.  This is a really promising start to what could become one of my future favourite crime series.  Great pacing, lots of wonderful dialogue between this cast of appealing characters and a great ‘didn’t see that coming’ twist.  I really liked Ice Lake.

Four out of five stars.

I chose to read and review an ARC of Ice Lake.  The above review is my own unbiased opinion.

Ice Lake by John A. Lenahan was published in the UK by Killer Reads on 7th July 2017 and is available in eBook format (with the paperback to follow in August 2017) | amazon.co.uk | Waterstones | Goodreads | Book Depository | Foyles |

ICE LAKE Blog Tour Poster (1).png

about the author3

John Lenahan came to Britain from his native Philadelphia for a short trip and has never quite made it back.

 John originally grabbed the headlines as the first person in 85 years to be expelled from the Magic Circle. The 3-card trick he exposed on How Do They Do That? is no more than a gambling con, but John took the rap and enjoyed the publicity.

 2004 saw him staring in a new primetime BBC1 show, Secrets of Magic. His own BBC2 series, Stuff The White Rabbit, achieved record ratings for the slot. Other TV credits include presenting the travelogue Open Road, playing the voice of the toaster in Red Dwarf, and guest appearances on everything from TFI Friday to Celebrity Squares. He also fronted HoaxBusters, an ITV network show lifting the lid on scams and hoaxes.

John has performed onstage all over the world, from Beijing and Dubai to Dublin. He has toured alongside Jack Dee, Victoria Wood, Lenny Henry and Michael Ball.

Besides all this, Lenahan is one of the most successful corporate entertainers in the country. Apart from his show-stealing cabaret, he has made kitchens appear, taught Bank of England staff to juggle, read thousands of minds and levitated a 20-pound Toblerone bar. He was the first person on record to perform magic live over the Internet, for BT.

John has been described by The Guardian as ‘the mascot of a magical renaissance’ – and by Jackie Collins as ‘extremely good looking’.

John Lenahan lives in Cricklewood, London. In a world dominated by awards, he is proud to have once been voted Time Out Street Magician of the Year.

John’s novels: Shadowmagic , The Prince of Hazel & Oak and Sons of Macha are now available in one omnibus –The Shadowmagic Trilogy – published by Harper Collins and is out in paperback iBook, Nook and Kindle formats.

The Magic Circle has finally  recognised their mistake and reinstated John.

Author bio from http://podlit.wixsite.com/site-4

Author Links: | Facebook | Website | Twitter |

Advertisements

One thought on “#BlogTour | #BookReview: Ice Lake by John A. Lenahan (@johnlenahan) @KillerReads

  1. You have a lot to answer for! Now I have to start ANOTHER series! LOL Seriously though, great review. I love thrillers that incorporate humour into the narrative.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s