#BlogTour | #BookReview: Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell (@Caroline_writes) @bookouture

sleep tight“Close your eyes … Just pray you don’t wake up.

A killer stalks the streets of East London. All over the area, murdered young women are discovered, their bodies posed into a sickening recreation of fairytale princesses.

Detective Ruby Preston is determined to hunt down a disturbed individual who is using the women to realise his dark fantasies. But when body parts are found at the home of her lover, Nathan Crosby, Ruby is torn between her job and her heart.

Convinced that he is being framed, Ruby must catch the killer before Nathan becomes the number one suspect. But as more victims are found, it becomes harder to prove his innocence.

As Ruby starts to close in on the twisted individual, can she stop him before he strikes again? And how well does she really know the man she loves?

A terrifying, addictive serial killer thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat, for readers of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Rachel Abbott.”

I am so incredibly happy to welcome you to damppebbles today as it’s my stop on the Sleep Tight blog tour.  Sleep Tight is the second book in the DS Ruby Preston series and is written by the incredibly talented Caroline Mitchell and published by Bookouture. If you missed it, I was rather fond of the first book in the series, Love You to Death.  So much so that it made it onto my books of 2016 list.  If you click here you can read my five star review of the book which started my obsession with Ruby Preston.

I guess the question is, did the second book in the series live up to my incredibly high, almost unachievable expectations?  I’ve been waiting with bated breath for my next fix of DS Ruby Preston so when I say the pressure was high, it was REALLY high!  And once again, Caroline Mitchell has knocked it out of the park.  It was SO good to be back on the case with Ruby and Co.

Ruby is as strong-willed and kick-ass as she was in the first book.  Her relationship with local crime boss, Nathan is as fully charged as ever but this time Ruby has to clear Nathan’s name as part of an investigation into a serial killer dressing his victims as macabre fairytale princesses.  It’s hard to deny you had something to do with the murders when a box of recently harvested organs is discovered beneath your bed, as Nathan quickly discovers.   Ruby however is convinced of Nathan’s innocence.  Her senior officers are convinced of Nathan’s guilt, so it’s down to our fearless hero to find the real killer and clear her man’s name.  The chemistry between Ruby and Nathan is something which makes this series of books extra special in my opinion.  As I may have mentioned before, I’m not one for slushy stuff in my crime novels but it’s such a big part of these characters stories that it just works.  There was less friction between the couple this time around but that was partly to do with Nathan being in hiding for the majority of the book.

Lenny, Nathan’s rather creepy brother, is back with a bang this time around as well.  I mentioned friction a moment ago and that’s what Lenny brings to the story.  But definitely NOT in the same way as Nathan.  His antagonistic personality, his needling, inappropriate behaviour towards Ruby makes my skin crawl.  He’s so repulsive but it just wouldn’t be the same without him.

We find out fairly early on who the killer is but what we don’t know is, who is pulling their strings.  The killer’s back story is quite shocking and it immediately clarifies why certain things are happening and the reason they’re happening to the people they are.  For me, it just made me fall a little more in love with one of the main characters but I refuse to say which one.  There are plenty more twists and surprises in store, including one that left me gasping like a fish out of water.  Thinking about it now, I still can’t quite believe it happened!

Would I recommend this book?  Of course I would (you’d be a fool not too!) but start with Love You to Death as it sets the scene and it’s bloody fabulous!  A tense, edge of your seat read which I devoured.  I didn’t want it to end!  Oh, and I have such a girl crush on Ruby Preston…but don’t tell anyone. Please Caroline Mitchell, keep writing about Ruby. I’m totally hooked!

Five out of five stars.

I chose to read and review an eARC of Sleep Tight.  The above review is my own unbiased opinion.

Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell was published in the UK by Bookouture on 20th April 2017 and is available in eBook format | amazon.co.uk | amazon.com | Goodreads |

copy-of-copy-of-smith-sons-1

caroline mitchell

A former police detective, Caroline has worked in CID and specialised in roles dealing with vulnerable victims, high risk victims of domestic abuse, and serious sexual offences.

Originally from Ireland, Caroline lives with her family in a pretty village on the coast of Essex.  She now writes full time.

Author Links: | Website | Facebook | Twitter |

 

Advertisements

7 thoughts on “#BlogTour | #BookReview: Sleep Tight by Caroline Mitchell (@Caroline_writes) @bookouture

  1. My review (up tomorrow) is almost the same as yours, it’s like we had the exact same thoughts. I’ve also mentioned LYTD is in my top 2016 at the start of my review, it’s so funny ;-). I only not admitted to having any girlcrush ;-). Great review Emma!

    Like

  2. This sounds like exactly the kind of book that I will love. Its just the best when the next book in the series that you have been eagerly awaiting totally lives up to your expectations. Two to add to my tbr I think.
    Amanda.

    Like

  3. Great review and I totally agree with you on everything. I liked this book even more than the first one. The series does keep getting better. Interesting what you said about Lenny, he is disgusting but he definitely adds something to the story.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s