#BlogTour | #BookReview: Into Darkness by T.J. Brearton (@BreartonTJ) #InkubatorBooks #IntoDarkness #damppebbles

draft1-2020-0351-Garret-Ryan-(for-T.J“They have been judged. The verdict – guilty. The sentence – death.

Two beautiful young women are found strangled, their bodies meticulously washed and groomed. The only thing they have in common – both worked as reporters for local TV stations. 

A coincidence? Or something more sinister?

Rookie Special Agent Shannon Ames is assigned to the case and soon impresses with her brilliant intuition and startling ability to think outside the box. 

But as Shannon takes a more prominent role in the investigation, she finds herself drawn into a deadly dance with a master of deception, a serial killer whose victims all work in media – journalists, influencers, reporters. 

Shannon’s superiors are convinced it’s part of some grand attack on the free press, but she has a hunch these killings are much more targeted. And she follows that hunch – straight into the heart of darkness…

Into Darkness is a gripping mystery thriller that will keep you up all night as it races towards its shocking conclusion. Perfect for fans of David Baldacci, Robert Dugoni and Lisa Regan.”

Hello and welcome to damppebbles. Today I am delighted to be taking part in the Into Darkness blog tour and sharing my review of the cracking first book in the Shannon Ames Thriller Series. Into Darkness is written by T.J. Brearton and was published by Inkubator Books on Sunday 12th April 2020. I received a free eARC of Into Darkness but that has in no way influenced my review.

I’ve been wanting to read a book by T.J. Brearton for some time now. He’s an author I see mentioned often on blogs and in bookish Facebook groups. I even have a couple of his books on the terrifying TBR, but y’know…time and all that (#bookwormproblems). So when the opportunity arose to read Into Darkness, the first book in a brand new series from one of my favourite publishers, I just couldn’t say no. And what a cracking read it is! There’s nothing I love more in my crime fiction than a kick-ass female lead (and a serial killer, got to love a serial killer….🤷). Shannon Ames is something else and I absolutely loved her (the book also features a serial killer so win/win!).

Shannon is a rookie FBI Agent stationed in NYC. She’s smart, gutsy and she’s come a long way from her humble beginnings as a farm girl in The Adirondacks. Still grieving the loss of her brother, which left the relationship between Shannon and her mother strained, she arrives at Williamsburg’s 90th precinct ready to help the NYPD investigate the disappearance of Monica Forbes. Monica is a local television news reporter and is the second reporter to have gone missing. The first, Eva Diaz, was found wrapped in black bin bags and slung over a fence after being meticulously washed by her killer. Time is running out for Monica and you just know that the situation isn’t going to end well. As the death toll starts to rise, with more and more media personalities and influencers falling victim to a sadistic killer, Shannon’s colleagues jump to some startling conclusions. But Shannon has her own ideas and it’s down to her to stop the killer, no matter what it takes…

Shannon is feisty and spirited and I loved her. I also absolutely adored NYPD detective, Luis Caldoza. The chemistry between Ames and Caldoza is wonderful to read and their obvious spark really added something to the story for me. The pacing in this book is fantastic. The reader is carried along as the action takes place on the page with beautifully written peaks and troughs. There are some absolute heart-stopping moments and for me, one moment in particular made me gasp out loud. I really liked where the author took the story and the motive he gave his killer for carrying out his horrific deeds. It was fascinating to watch the story unfold.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, I would and I look forward to reading the second book in the Shannon Ames Series soon. If you’re looking for a new crime thriller series to follow then I heartily suggest you give this one a go. It’s a thrilling roller-coaster ride of a read and Shannon is a really likeable protagonist and someone the reader can get behind. Recommended.

I chose to read and review an eARC of Into Darkness. The above review is my own unbiased opinion.

Into Darkness by T.J. Brearton was published in the UK by Inkubator Books on 12th April 2020 and is available in paperback and digital formats (please note, the following links are affiliate links which mean I receive a small percentage of the purchase price at no extra cost to you): | amazon.co.uk | amazon.comGoodreads |

Into Darkness banner

about-the-author3

brearton author photo 500x500T.J. Brearton’s books have reached half a million readers around the world and have topped the Amazon charts in the US, UK, Canada, and Australia. A graduate of the New York Film Academy in Manhattan, Brearton first worked in film before focusing on novels. His books are visually descriptive with sharp dialog and underdog heroes. When not writing, Brearton does whatever his wife and three children tell him to do. They live happily in the Adirondack Mountains of upstate, New York. Yes, there are bears in the Adirondacks. But it’s really quite beautiful when you’re not running for your life.

T.J. is the author of Dead Gone and many other crime thrillers. INTO DARKNESS will be his first novel published with Inkubator Books.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s