#R3COMM3ND3D2020 with #Author Anne Coates (@Anne_Coates1) @urbanebooks #PerditionsChild #HannahWeybridgeSeries #damppebbles #BookRecommendations #publishedin2020

Hello and happy Thursday! It’s day 12 of #R3COMM3ND3D2020 – hurrah! Today I am delighted to welcome a brilliant author to share her three #R3COMM3ND3D2020 picks with us, it’s the very lovely Anne Coates who writes the Hannah Weybridge novels published by Urbane Books. I’ve read a number of the books in Anne’s series and they really are excellent. You can find out a little more about the latest, Perdition’s Child, a little later on.

So, what is #R3COMM3ND3D2020? It’s about sharing the book love. It’s a chance for authors, book bloggers and bookstagrammers to shout about three (yes, *only* three) books they love. They can be written by any author, in any genre and published in any way (traditionally, indie press or self-published). But there is a catch. All three books must have been published in 2020. To make things interesting I have added a couple of teeny, tiny rules this year which are; 1) the book must have first been published in 2020 and 2) special editions and reissues do not count. I like to keep you lovely people on your toes. 😉

Here are the three books Anne has chosen for us…

R3C20 death of a mermaid

Death of a Mermaid by Lesley Thomson
The title intrigued me but I wasn’t prepared to be so engrossed by a narrative set in a small seaside town where a lot of the action centres on fishing and selling of fish!Fabulous build up of atmosphere as secrets come to light in an increasingly menacing atmosphere with an ending that will blow you away.

R3C20 rabbit hole

Rabbit Hole by Jon Richter
I loved the concept of an ex-journalist, Elaine Napier, now producing a podcast, The Frozen Files, to investigate a cold case murder. Katrin Gunnerasdottir disappeared five years previously, leaving her parents and boyfriend Marcus Dobson bereft and perplexed. Her body has never been found so she could still be alive… somewhere. The narrative begins slowly and gradually the reader is introduced to two lives being explored and investigated: Elaine’s and Katrin’s. The fact that the journo, who has dark secrets and a loss of her own, tries to follow in some of the victim’s footsteps adds an extra frisson of danger and complications and a dramatic dénouement.

R3C20 the smart womans guide to murder

The Smart Woman’s Guide to Murder by Victoria Dowd
This début tilts its hat at the Golden Age of detective fiction with the country house scenario from which there is no contact with the outside world when a snow storm engulfs the building. The fact that the characters hiring the house are members of a book group (with only one of them actually reading) who all seem to hate each other adds a dimension of dark humour amidst the murders which on the face of it are inexplicable…

Three very intriguing titles, thank you Anne. Some definite addtions to the terrifying TBR I think!

If Anne has managed to tempt you, or if you would like to find out more about the books recommended above, please see the following links:

Death of a Mermaid by Lesley Thomson
Rabbit Hole by Jon Richter
The Smart Woman’s Guuide to Murder by Victoria Dowd

About Perdition’s Child:Perditions Child

Dulwich library is the scene of a grisly murder, followed swiftly by another in Manchester, the victims linked by nothing other than their Australian nationality. Police dismiss the idea of a serial killer, but journalist Hannah Weybridge isn’t convinced.

She is drawn into an investigation in which more Australian men are killed as they try to trace their British families. Her research reveals past horrors and present sadness, and loss linked to children who went missing after the Second World War. Have those children returned now?

Once again Hannah finds herself embroiled in a deadly mystery, a mystery complicated by the murder of Harry Peters; the brother of Lucy, one of the residents of Cardboard City she had become friendly with. It soon becomes clear Lucy is protecting secrets of her own.

What is Lucy’s link to the murders and can Hannah discover the truth before the killer strikes again?

Anne Coates gripping thriller is the perfect read for fans of Emma Tallon, K.L.Slater and Laura Marshall.

| amazon.co.uk | amazon.com | Waterstones | hive.co.uk |

About Anne Coates:
Editor, journalist and author of the Hannah Weybridge crime thriller series plus collections of short stories and non-fiction.

Anne’s Social Media Links:
| Website | Twitter @Anne_Coates1 | Facebook | Instagram @anne_coates1 |

If you’re a book blogger, bookstagrammer or an author and you have three books published this year which you want to shout about then please complete the following form (or click this link: https://forms.gle/kHTQeQdiUNZTsW4d6)

One thought on “#R3COMM3ND3D2020 with #Author Anne Coates (@Anne_Coates1) @urbanebooks #PerditionsChild #HannahWeybridgeSeries #damppebbles #BookRecommendations #publishedin2020

  1. Pingback: Incredibly flattered to be one of the three recommended books of the year! Thank you. – Victoria Dowd

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s